Author Topic: Beginning with robotics  (Read 2423 times)

Offline HassanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Beginning with robotics
« on: September 05, 2010, 12:26:56 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'm somewhat new to robots world, or generally, hardware world, i have background on programing (game programming with C++ mostly), i've always been into robots and hardware intelligence, so, i decided to make a board (that's what you call it? i dunno, that green piece including all electronics attached to it) that can do variety of functions depending on the plugged sensors/motors/program.

First things first, i need a good chip, fully programmable through C++, have somewhat good program space (so like, you can make large programs without limitations), and can be attached with 10+ motors and 10+ sensors at once, i hate having limitations, totally destroys your ideas.
So where can i find such a chip? and how much will it cost?
Also, how can i attach a camera to my controller? is it just same as the motors/sensors, or it has some different configurations?

as for the motors, are there smaller ones than these: (taken from the 50$ robot tutorial)

those are pretty big, and weak, is there a smaller/stronger ones? (does the strength depend on the power supply? excuse me, still a beginner), smaller ones would be really useful for things like arms for the robot, unless im going to make a robot as large as a human, these are too big

last question is, can i make some sort of bluetooth system, where i can send/receive data to and from the robot? for example, lets say i made an application that sends some packet to this bluetooth device giving it some info, my program inside the chip responds to the packet and do some specific job