Author Topic: Looking for AVR programming tutorial  (Read 3818 times)

Offline apc3161Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Looking for AVR programming tutorial
« on: June 14, 2009, 09:45:37 AM »
Hello,

I'm looking for an ABSOLUTE BEGINNER tutorial for learning how to program in C for the AVR (i.e for the atmega8).

So far, every tutorial I've found (just like the $50 robot) doesn't actually teach you anything. They just say "copy this into your code and watch it work"

Example, I went to the AVR Freaks website, and they had a tutorial labeled "introduction to the AVR micro controller". When the programming section came up it just said copy this

Code: [Select]
#define F_CPU 1000000UL

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <util/delay.h>

// LED is connected to PB4 (pin 3 on the chip)
#define LEDPIN 4

int main(void)
{
DDRB = 0x1F; // PB0-PB4 output
PORTB = 0x00; // Set all pins low

// Turn LED on for 1 sec and then off for 1 sec forever
while(1)
{
PORTB |= _BV(LEDPIN); // Turn LED on
_delay_ms(1000); // Wait 1000 ms (1 sec)

PORTB &= ~(_BV(LEDPIN)); // Turn LED off
_delay_ms(1000); // Wait 1000 ms (1 sec)
}

return 0;

Now I'm totally new to this subject, and pretty much everything in the code looks like gibberish. Not one explanation is given as to why the code works as it does.

For example, no explanation is given as to what this is doing

#define F_CPU 1000000UL
#include <avr/io.h>
#include <util/delay.h>

or how this line works

PORTB |= _BV(LEDPIN);

Does anyone know of an absolute beginners tutorial, that assumes you know nothing. I want to learn how this stuff works, not just copy and paste code.

Any links would be greatly welcomed. Thanks

Offline RoboChan

• Helpful? 0
Re: Looking for AVR programming tutorial
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2009, 11:53:11 AM »
So far, every tutorial I've found (just like the $50 robot) doesn't actually teach you anything. They just say "copy this into your code and watch it work"
Ya thats what im having problems with. but im kinda getting it...