Author Topic: Beginner  (Read 7177 times)

Offline Android19Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Beginner
« on: July 08, 2006, 08:53:36 AM »
Let me start off by sayin hi to everyone and how glad I am to find a forum full of information. I am new to robotics but I have done alot of researching and studying about building robots. I am looking to build my first one soon and have a pretty good idea of what I want.

Brain: OOpic 2 board
Motor Control: Mini Dual H Bridge
Vision: x2 Sharp IR Range Finder
Motors: x2 12V DC
Wheels: x2 Flat Neoprene Foam Tires
Batteries: ??
Base: Some type of aluminum or plastic

I want the robot to be able to avoid obstacles. I am not sure how to program everything together to make it do that. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2006, 07:56:33 PM by Android19 »

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Beginner
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2006, 09:49:40 PM »
Your list looks good to me . . .

Have you read the sharp IR article?
http://www.societyofrobots.com/sensors_sharpirrange.shtml
it explains how to avoid obstacles with it

as for the base, i recommend putting a lot of time in the design phase planning it out on paper/pencil or in CAD. it will save you a lot of time/money the better you plan things out . . .

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2006, 09:54:46 PM »
ITonight I got a whole list of ideas for the body and picked one and detailed it out on the computer and on paper several times using different angles and measurements. What would be the easiest language to program the bot with? Also, I plan on making several more add ons to it in the future instead of building a whole other robot. All of this is incoporated into the design of course. Have you or anyone had any experience with the oopic?? Thanks

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2006, 10:05:26 PM »