Author Topic: need advice on how to convert power from mains to useable battery voltage  (Read 2615 times)

Offline shyamgeniousTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
hey guys/gurls
this post is for my upcoming robot and i need to charge some very sensitve li-batteries with steady voltages.
how can i convert the electricity from the mains to useable battery voltage like some 9 volt??
do i use resistors?or do i use transformers??. plz guide me step by step or a circuit diagram will be most welcome as i am a newbie with only a little knowledge.

regards
shyamgeni

Offline rbtying

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 31
[...] plz guide me step by step or a circuit diagram will be most welcome as i am a newbie with only a little knowledge.

(emphasis mine)

Don't even try to charge lithium based chemistries until you have a thorough grounding in both how the batteries themselves work and the circuits required to charge them properly.  Your life is worth quite a bit more than the ~$20.00 it takes to buy a lithium-ion charger - be well aware that if mishandled, overcharged, overdischarged, or even looked at wrong, lithium batteries might explode - and the lithium inside them is highly flammable. 

Even more so, working with mains electricity is something that is in itself highly dangerous - accidentally touching live wires will leave you in the hospital for weeks. 

I hope that you will redirect your efforts to save your own life =). 

• Helpful? 0
[...] plz guide me step by step or a circuit diagram will be most welcome as i am a newbie with only a little knowledge.

(emphasis mine)