Author Topic: Beginner Help  (Read 1694 times)

Offline tyler555Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Beginner Help
« on: December 07, 2011, 04:05:43 PM »
I am new to all of this....
My team is planning to compete in the lightweight division of the NRC sumo. The max weight is 50 lbs and it is remote controlled. So far we have a pyramid design. This is not a battle bot. It is strictly sumo, no weapons.

Parts list so far...
DX7 digital controller
Ar7000 Receiver
Two NPC-41250 Geared Brushed Motors, We plan on running them at 24v
Materials needed for construction
and that is about it

We need to get a speed controller/s, depending on if the speed controller is compatible with 2 motors at such high current. We also need to purchase batteries. And other various items that you guys think is necessary. I need help with the wiring also.

What I would like help with:
Purchasing/ using batteries-( I have no clue what the running time or voltage or amp hours for any of this so I have no clue what to buy)
Purchasing/ using speed controller/s- (what would be best for our set up and motors?)
Finally, The wiring, I don't know how to wire it so that I don't blow up my $90 receiver, or any other electronics)

If any of you could help me, It would be fantastic and much appreciated, plus I can teach the rest of my class what you guys have taught me, thank you.

• Helpful? 0
Re: Beginner Help
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2011, 04:08:54 PM »
ALSO I WOULD LIKE THE ABILITY TO BRAKE THE MOTORS, SINCE OUR SLOW AND STEADY HIGH TORQUE DESIGN.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2011, 04:32:37 PM »
Thinking about two of IFI VEX Pro Victor 883 speed controllers

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2011, 04:40:32 PM »
or the Vantec RDFR22 dual Speed Controller

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2011, 07:26:41 PM »
ALSO I WOULD LIKE THE ABILITY TO BRAKE THE MOTORS, SINCE OUR SLOW AND STEADY HIGH TORQUE DESIGN.