Author Topic: what is better in the long run a milling machine or a PCB maker ??  (Read 2391 times)

Offline robotsRcoolTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Hi everyone I'm a beginner to robotics and i was wondering wheather it would be better to get a milling machine or get the service of a PCB maker what do you think ???

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: what is better in the long run a milling machine or a PCB maker ??
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 01:37:39 AM »
 Laser cutter  :D

It's probably more useful than a milling machine unless you are working on huge robots.

paulstreats

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2010, 07:07:12 PM »
A milling machine will allow you to make basic PCB's aswell as Hardware such as Chassis, wheels, grippers and possibly gears.

If your PCB's become suitably advanced, the milling machine will not be able to contend with other techniques, but you will still have an advantage as far as the structural and mechanical side of robotics.

A milling machine would be a good asset in the long run...

Offline vinito

• Helpful? 6
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2010, 09:43:18 PM »
A milling machine will engrave PCBs for you from Eagle files. Google PCB-Gcode. It's an add-on for Eagle and I've been putting it through some tests lately. It generates pretty good code. The right setup should net you pretty usable PCBs. It would be great for developing your own prototype boards for less than a buck each.

Now the big "however"...