go away spammer

Author Topic: Axon bootloader - did I erase it?  (Read 5666 times)

Offline OperationIvyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Axon bootloader - did I erase it?
« on: December 09, 2008, 10:26:20 AM »
Yesterday I fired up the boot loader successfully one or two times before (possibly) messing it up. I had the axon plugged in to the USB on my computer, started the boot loader, then when I went to turn on my power supply, I accidentally turned it on for just a second before turning it on fully. What happened was the button didnt click in so it got power for a second and then turned off. Well when it got power initially it started talking to the boot loader program but when I turned it on again there was some kind of error message. Now when I try to run the boot loader at the command prompt it acts like it doesn't see the axon plugged in through the usb.

I'm pretty sure the axon no longer has the boot loader software installed, but I'm not that experienced with this sort of thing, so if anyone has some insight I would really appreciate it. Just to be safe I went ahead and ordered a hardware programmer in case I need to re-upload the boot loader, but I hope that won't be necessary.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon bootloader - did I erase it?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 11:47:23 AM »
The bootloader is probably still there, although on rare occasions shutting off power during programming AVR's has been known to corrupt data and even mess up clock fuses (bad!).

There is a much larger chance your computer isn't opening/closing your USB port properly and that restarting your PC will probably fix it. (let me know if it does!) Also, make sure you aren't using the USB port with another program such as Hyperterminal.