Author Topic: road sensing robot  (Read 3453 times)

Offline jonny_u2005Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
road sensing robot
« on: January 04, 2010, 03:48:06 PM »
hi guys!
    I'm a student in robotics and have recently joined a competition in which I must build a road sensing robot.The road will consist from two white stripes, 2 inches wide drawn onto a blue carpet.The distance between them is 20 inches.My robot must stay "on the road", between the two stripes.The robot has to cost under 150$ and move as fast as possible.Initially, I thought using two simple IR sensors and sense the lines as the robot crosses them and compute the necessary adjustments so that my thingy stays on the road.The trajectory of the robot would be much like a zig-zag.I don't really like that.The idea is that I want my robot to sense the lines from some distance (5 to 15 inches).Could I make a sensor that would behave as an obscure chamber with a phototransistor at the bottom ? I would mount a flashlight on my robot and aim it to the road.When the tube is aligned with the white stripe,that stripe will reflect more light to my sensor.The small hole will control the "width" of the image - how wide is the portion of the road I can scan. I forgot...I'm a beginner :).What do you think? Could it be done? Any ideas? Thanks!

Offline z.s.tar.gz

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: road sensing robot
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 04:12:15 PM »
This is the perfect situation for a camera, with the simple patterns and high contrast.
Exactly how to do that, I have no idea. But that's what I'd look into.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline little-c

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 1
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 04:44:32 PM »
line follow to one side of the road? ie set robot off at speed, once it senses the line, it follows the line, whilst been offset from the line? (ie the sensor is mounted so the robot is inside the road whilst the sensor is reading the line)