go away spammer

Author Topic: A platform to Test your Swam A.I. - Robocode  (Read 2787 times)

Offline Trigger_HappyTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
A platform to Test your Swam A.I. - Robocode
« on: June 24, 2009, 12:08:00 AM »
Hey guys I'm an avid coder and I came across this platform about a year ago, it's a really neat way to test your swarm algorithms and your combat robot Algos, the platform is called Robocode. It's a Java based environment ( implementing your ideas in an Object Oriented Platform is very simple). Here's a small write up on it :

"Robocode is an Open Source educational game started by Mathew Nelson (originally provided by IBM). The game is designed to help people learn to program in Java and enjoy the experience . It is very easy to start - a simple robot can be written in just a few minutes - but perfecting a bot can take months or more."(yes I copied this extract from Wikipedia :P)

But check it out here:
http://robocode.sourceforge.net/
http://robowiki.net/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/robocode/

It's free and it's loads of fun!!

Hope this helps!

Cheers!!

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: A platform to Test your Swam A.I. - Robocode
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 12:57:10 PM »
JAVA! Thanks for showing us this!

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 06:10:07 AM »
is it really that easy

cause i am not the best coder

Offline Metal Slug 2

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 03:35:55 PM »
Wow, this is soo Kool!  I am definetly going to propose the idea of learning Java instead of Turing to my programming teacher next year!  What a great idea, you can learn to program AND have fun at the same time!!!  plus its a nice strategy game...

Offline Trigger_HappyTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2009, 03:26:21 AM »
is it really that easy

cause i am not the best coder