go away spammer

Author Topic: Multiplo  (Read 2138 times)

Offline NERDsoldierTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Multiplo
« on: June 29, 2013, 07:01:05 PM »
I am by no means an expert on robots, rather still in the learning phase in the beginning of it all. However, I ran across this:

http://multiplo.org/

What do you all think of it? I think that its an interesting concept that would allow for 3D prototyping of any idea you have for a robot build that could then be translated into other media, allowing prototyping to run much smoother.

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Multiplo
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 07:36:24 AM »
Yea, the 'erector set' concept which can be great for prototyping ideas.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 10:18:44 AM »
Personally, I'd rather want "rawer" materials like extruded aluminum profile and brackets.
Having the mechanics be part of the system means you're a little more "locked in."
Check out 80/20, OpenRail, OpenBeam or MakerBeam for examples. A good drill and some bolts will then mount whatever you want to that chassis.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2013, 11:11:06 AM »
I think that the reason it interests me is that while parts are more locked in like you mentioned, I am still learning and for someone else still learning I am sure that they would have more then enough freedom working with something like this.

And besides, if I am going to give some money to a company that makes robots, I would rather give it to this one, after all they are trying to make robotics education much more affordable for anyone that would want to include it as a part of an educational program.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2013, 04:23:02 PM »
Personally, I'd rather want "rawer" materials like extruded aluminum profile and brackets.
Having the mechanics be part of the system means you're a little more "locked in."