Author Topic: What do you use for processing?  (Read 1429 times)

Offline thedudeTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
What do you use for processing?
« on: August 15, 2013, 09:28:32 PM »
Hello,
I am a newbie in the world of robotics and I was wondering what people are using for the "brains" of their robotic projects.

I build a robot recently which worked fine, but since I was using one slow microcontroller to handle all of the logic and running the motors, it acted very clunky. Even after optimizing the code, it still seemed as though I was doing something fundamentally wrong.

The robot that I am currently working on is something is mainly something that can navigate mazes via polling ultrasonic sensors, with the addition of a few other sensors in order to do simple tasks.

So what I am wondering is, is what hardware I should be using? I was thinking something along the lines as using multiple microcontrollers to poll sensor data while another microcontroller would receive the data via I2C and run the motors accordingly. I was also considering the idea of programming the FPGA to be some kind of master, while using various microcontrollers as slaves on a I2C to serve the motors.

Again, sorry for the noobish question.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: What do you use for processing?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 11:13:34 PM »
A microcontroller can do what you suggest, if treated carefully.
You should never use a delay() call anywhere.
You will probably use interrupts and overlap certain operations.
Most of your code will be a big state machine that's run in the main loop:

1) Check any events/flags since last loop.
2) Read any available inputs.
3) Figure out what to do next based on available state.
4) Possibly start some new operation.
5) Update outputs.