Author Topic: New to robotics - Some questions  (Read 2283 times)

Offline hichrichTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
New to robotics - Some questions
« on: October 27, 2013, 04:24:26 AM »
Hello SoR,
I have recently taken an interest in robotics, and I figured I would like to attempt to construct a robot. Basically, I just want to make a remote controlled car - nothing fancy. However, I have no background in this field, so start at the beginning as you answer these questions:
a) Do I need to buy a PCB? If I am making a simple car, do I need to acquire complex software, or can I run it without a PCB and just link up the receiver to the motors?
b) What is the difference between a Servo and a standard motor? (I know that Servos turn 180 degrees, but other than that?) Which would be suitable for powering wheels?
c) From what I have found on the internet, aluminium is a common material for the frame of the robot. Can I use 3mm acrylic? I have better access to the latter.
d) From where can I acquire a remote controller and a receiver? Preferably not a fancy one, just enough to send signals to two wheels.
e) What is recommended for a power source? A rechargeable battery, that provides the right output for two motors. What type should I look at?
f) Is a soldering iron necessary? I found a $10 one at a discount store, which is probably not very high quality. Should I buy one, or can the necessary connections be made without one?
Any help is greatly appreciated to get my project started. Thanks!

Offline gerard

• Helpful? 2
Re: New to robotics - Some questions
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 08:14:47 AM »
what is your budget?
if you are looking at hobby-grade rc components, you may be spending a few hundred $$$ on this project

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 12:54:21 PM »
a) By PCB, I imagine you mean "microcontroller" such as the Arduino or Raspberry Pi.
In my mind, it's not really a robot without a microcontroller.