go away spammer

Author Topic: Doubts about the design of a mobile line follower robot  (Read 1347 times)

Offline everalexdTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Doubts about the design of a mobile line follower robot
« on: February 12, 2013, 10:38:12 PM »
I’m an enthusiastic hobbyist of robotics and i want to make my first line follower robot, i’ve learned some important topics about microcontrollers, programming in c, so i think i have the enough skills for development of this project.
So my questions are.

1. Which is the best actuator between a dc motor with gearbox(gearmotor) and a servomotor.

2. I am planning to add encoders on the wheels, someone could suggest me what type of encoder is the most suitable and why

3. How can i know the minimum and maximum torque that i’ll need for the dc motor or servo

4. what is the most suitable structure for the robot considering the aerodynamic.

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Doubts about the design of a mobile line follower robot
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 04:07:20 AM »
1. Which is the best actuator between a dc motor with gearbox(gearmotor) and a servomotor.
There is no overall best actuator. While geared motor has more power (compared to the same size servo) it required external circuitry to be driven (aka H-Bridge), where servo has control circuitry embedded in it.

2. I am planning to add encoders on the wheels, someone could suggest me what type of encoder is the most suitable and why