go away spammer

Author Topic: how to find the positon of a object  (Read 9953 times)

Offline roboticwaterTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
how to find the positon of a object
« on: July 31, 2007, 04:57:00 PM »
Hi,

I am doing a program to move a robotic arm to the destination only with one camera. Now I can process image to extract three color blobs sticked on the joints of arm and ignore the background . I also got the center (x,y) position of each color blob on the image. How can I get the actual position of each blob? (Is my step correct?) I have read through the tutorial of Stereo Vision here, but I still cannot understand the equation for one camera. I hope someone can help me out. I am really a beginner on COMPUTER VISION.
x_camL = focal_length * X_actual / Z_actual
y_camL = focal_length * Y_actual / Z_actual
what is the x_camL and y_camL here (the position of the camera in which coordinates)

Thank you very much!!!!!!
jerry
« Last Edit: July 31, 2007, 05:07:39 PM by roboticwater »

Offline Kohanbash

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 1
Re: how to find the positon of a object
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2007, 10:00:36 PM »
Im not sure i understand your question. But is sounds like you need to calibrate your camera so that you can relate pixels to real world distances.
Robots for Roboticists Blog - http://robotsforroboticists.com/

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2007, 12:18:08 AM »
Oh, sorry for the confusing question. I need to know the actual positions of three key points (the elbow joint, the end-effectors and the destination). Because I can find the positions in the image coordinates. What is the next step I need to follow for making the robotic arm to move to the destination automatically and correctly by using only one camera.

Thank you very much anyway!!!!!

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2007, 05:29:01 AM »