go away spammer

Author Topic: Linear Remote Control Servo  (Read 8392 times)

Offline camerarobotTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Linear Remote Control Servo
« on: February 24, 2008, 04:48:47 AM »
I am new to robot construction and electronics in general.  Before I jump into making a full robot I want to make a remote control cable release for my old camera.  I have a few ideas but am not sure how to implement them. 

I have been reading a lot here and it seems that if I use a servo motor then I can get a linear motion adapter kit for it.  But I am confused as to how to control the servo.   I want to use a simple on/off one or two button RF remote control that trips a relay whch trips the servo.  The RC needs to be small, about the size of a keyless remote, and the servo has to move forward about 1-2 inches to depress a cable release button.

First, what happens to a servo motor if it is hooked up to power?  Does it stay still.  I have read that you use a "pot" to control the pulse of the servo.  How do I wire up this  simple operation.  I should be able to figure it out but cannot on my own.  Thank you in advance for your help.

I attached a picture to help explain.

Offline Trikky2

• Helpful? 0
    • Trikky2 - My Robot site
Re: Linear Remote Control Servo
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 05:21:39 AM »
I'm sure others here will be better to help with the servo question, but when I saw your idea I immediately thought of using a linear actuator ?

Should be able to find something that suits at :
http://surplussales.com/Motors/Motors-6.html

Hope that helps.

All the best.

Richard
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My Robot Site

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 05:32:45 AM »
I'm pretty sure that if the trigger for the camera doesn't require too much force, you can get away with it by using the servo horn to push it.