go away spammer

Author Topic: help: air duct cleaner robot  (Read 2794 times)

Offline nevermineTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
help: air duct cleaner robot
« on: June 06, 2010, 04:14:49 AM »
Hi all,
first of all, i'd liketo said that im new to Robots, but im going to build a air duct cleaner robot for my project.
the robot is similar to the robot in the video shown below but without any cables.
[youtube]Air Duct Cleaning[/youtube]

now i have a question. what kind of vacuum that i can use? where can i get that?
my first idea is to modified those portable car's vacuum.but is there any other way to do that?so that can make my robot looks more customized.

thanks in advance

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
Re: help: air duct cleaner robot
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2010, 04:37:48 AM »
i would think that the most effective, quickest and cheapest way would to be to go with a off the shelf solution.A product that already vacuums.

All you would have to do is hack the vacuum and find a suitable way to power and plumb every thing.

The biggest problem if you go with this method is powering the system. if you go with a battery powered cleaner you should be fine.

I am not sure where you can get a vacuum unit alone?

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2010, 04:52:00 AM »
Hi Joker94,thanks for your reply

thats the vacuum that im going to modified.
oh yea,power supply problem. maybe use a 9V++ or above battery.thats my idea currently.

then,i've go through the forum,and to make the robot able to turn left/right,i need some sonar sensor and omni-wheel.
but i found that the sonar sensor i found are $20++usd!is there any other cheaper sonar sensor?
by the way,im from Malaysia.nice to meet ya^^

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2010, 05:20:10 AM »
nice to meet you to

that vacum looks fine. you should be able to use the battery that is in the vacuum to power the vacuum on your bot.