go away spammer

Author Topic: tracking a moving object from a moving UAV robot  (Read 4020 times)

Offline gratefulfrogTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
tracking a moving object from a moving UAV robot
« on: November 06, 2012, 09:54:45 AM »
Hi SoR team!

I'm sorry to jump in as a complete newbee, but I am.  Here's the first of my dilemmas:

I'm about to start building an autonomous UAV that should be able to fly ahead of a moving person guided by a video stream from an on board camera. The idea is to maintain the person in the center of the frame, while keeping a fixed distance ahead of him.

My questions is: How could I extract the position of my target person from the image stream, given that the UAV is moving as well as the target person?

All suggestions would be great - I'm sorry if this is a silly question...

I am more than available to help answer it.

With great appreciation for all the expertise I see here!

thanks,
Bob

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: tracking a moving object from a moving UAV robot
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 12:36:44 PM »
A camera is the only way to do it. Have the person wear a red shirt, and then have your system do blob detection on the color red. If the blob gets smaller, that means the person is walking away. If it gets bigger, the person is moving towards the robot. etc.

Make a ground-based mock-up first, using a simple robot, so you can test out your vision algorithms without worrying about crashing or the ~10 min battery lifetime of your UAV.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 12:45:42 PM »
Hi Admin!

Thanks for the tips!

There is one issue, that the target will be dressed as it wants.  Do you think there's a way of identifying him at first, then using blob detection (or optical flow?) to track the "identified" target?