Author Topic: anybody w sumo experiance read pls  (Read 2561 times)

Offline frank26080115Topic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
anybody w sumo experiance read pls
« on: November 07, 2007, 10:29:59 PM »
I have this black construction paper, it is almost as IR reflective as white printer paper, but i also have this black  object and it is half as reflective, my naked eye can't tell which is more reflective, how sensitive does my sensor need to be for a sumo ring?

Offline bulkhead

• Helpful? 0
Re: anybody w sumo experiance read pls
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 02:36:34 AM »
I have some experience.  I just use the QRD1114 sensors because they are cheap and they work pretty well.  I have a constant in my program so I can adjust the threshold (line/no line) depending on the ring.  Usually it's pretty evident when a dark surface becomes white; the fine tuning of the constant helps for getting the brown start lines to not trigger the 'line detected' routine.  I have never actually been to a real sumo competition so I don't know if you can test your robot beforehand or not...

Offline JonHylands

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
    • Jon's Place
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 07:51:14 AM »
Generally you can test your robot on the ring beforehand. I have a "debug menu" that runs over the serial port. When I power up the robot, if I'm pushing the start button it drops into the debug menu instead of starting the sumo code. I hook the robot up via a USB -> TTL converter, and run HyperTerminal.

I can test my motors, range finders, edge sensors, plus set all the timing constants and thresholds (which are all stored in EEPROM) from the debug menu. The menu prints out as text, and I can hit specific keys on the keyboard (indicated in the menu) to execute each entry.