Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Electronics => Electronics => Topic started by: Brandon121233 on February 14, 2007, 10:32:09 PM

Title: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Brandon121233 on February 14, 2007, 10:32:09 PM
Hi
I'm semi new to robotics, because I know lots about mechanics and building, lots about individual electronic components, but not a whole lot in the world of applying those two with microcontrollers and getting a robot in the end. Anyway my specific question would be about the process of connecting a microcontroller to a robot and attaching the servos and sensors, then linking that with a computer to get a functional robot. That is a general view of want I would like to know, specifically I want to use a TI calculator (almost every kid in high school or college has one) to be the main brain for the robot. Where it becomes unclear for me is what is necessary for that. I don't think that a microcontroller is necessary because the calculator is acting as the memory and brain, but it would then need to output it to like a servo controller, and be linked with something that could organize and send back sensor information. Since I don't know exactly what I'm talking about or how to implement it, is this thing that would take information from a calculator and output it to servos and send back sensor info, really just a microcontroller? I've included a graphical representation of what I'm thinking.(http://photo.ringo.com/191/191236179O288180463.jpg)
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Hal9000 on February 15, 2007, 03:29:08 AM
Hey there,

It just so happens that I was looking at this site last night

http://www.leang.com/robotics/

You could try and email him I guess

Other links I literally just googled (Using      http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=ti-83+robot&meta=    )

http://www.smallrobot.com/scimath.html

People like this guy on the ticalc.org website also could have some info http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/authors/48/4842.html

http://www.generation5.org/content/2000/calcrobot.asp

http://www.generation5.org/content/2002/calcrobot_2.asp

http://www.mste.uiuc.edu/courses/ci399ATGfa02/folders/mstoraasli/day_3.htm

Hope that helped :)

Ian
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Hal9000 on February 15, 2007, 08:02:47 AM
Ok I got in touch with Kam Leang from

http://www.leang.com/robotics/

and he is hoping to have his ti-83 robot tutorial (and his new site!) up soon

Watch that space!

Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Brandon121233 on February 15, 2007, 05:45:11 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I had not seen Kam Leang's site, but it looks very interesting- pretty much EXACTLY what I wanted to do, so I will definitally be looking forward to his completed tutorial. Thanks a bunch for that link. :D
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Admin on February 16, 2007, 06:41:55 PM
i split your topic and put it here:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=601.0

please dont double post!!!!
-admin
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Brandon121233 on March 03, 2007, 07:04:10 PM
Hey
I've been doing a little research and it sounds like the TI89 is not capable of controlling the Arduino board because they are both slaves and require drivers to work on a computer. However I think I might have found something that might be plausable and in the end a little simpler. I was thing of getting a USB to parallel port adaptor http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_e/105-1113754-9449251?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=USB+To+Parallel+Adapter+&Go.x=11&Go.y=10&Go=Go (http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_e/105-1113754-9449251?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=USB+To+Parallel+Adapter+&Go.x=11&Go.y=10&Go=Go) and then just controll the robot with the parallel port. I have never done anyhting with parallel ports before so I was wanting to know if someone thinks this is plausable, or I should just give up on the Calculator robot?
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: JesseWelling on March 03, 2007, 08:23:54 PM
If your first goal is to hack a calculator: no, don't give up.
If your first goal is to make a robot: yes, find a microcontroller that makes your life easy.
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: dunk on March 04, 2007, 05:33:30 AM
hey Brandon,
so can you just clarify what you want to do with the USB to parallel port adapter?

is there a USB port on your calculator which you want to plug it in to?
if this is your plan then no, it won't work. the calculator's USB port (if it has one) will only be a USB device port. as the USB to parallel port adapter is also a USB device you wouldn't be able to connect the 2 together.
one of the devices in USB communications must be a USB host, for example a PC.

if on the other hand you intend to use the USB to parallel port adapter on a computer and controll your bot from your computer then yes, this can work.
on some operating systems you can controll the pins on a parallell port independently allowing you to controll up to 12 output pins with only very simple circuitry.
i know this works under DOS, Linux and easily versions of Windows but i think i read somewhere it doesn't work under XP...
as for how to write the software, i can't remember the exact command but it's 1 line in a C program running on your PC to change the pin's voltage. you'd have to research that bit yourself.

dunk.
Title: Re: Using a TI graphing calculator as a robot "brain"
Post by: Brandon121233 on March 04, 2007, 10:03:56 PM
Yeh that was kinda the plan to plug the Parallel to USB adaptor into the TI89 titaniums build in usb port, and controll the robot via the parallel port, but that sounds like its not going to happen. So now I think the only remaining way to controll a robot with a calculator is through the I/O port (the TI89 has one of those too), and I know that has to be possible somehow cause Kam Leang has done it. However he has not responded to my attempts to caontact him on how he did it, but I assume he used the I/O port and auctually used two of the digital inputs on a microcontroller to tell it what to do. Does anyone know if this sounds about right?