Author Topic: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question  (Read 4996 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xjtxdyexTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
$50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« on: April 08, 2009, 05:26:08 PM »
Hey all, i am new to this forum and just finished reading the robot for under 50 dollars.  while i don't have much expierience building robots as a hobbyist i do have expierance building robots with a team. My main expertise goes to mainly mechanics (including pneumatics, treads, design flaws, and other mechanics) and design, knowing only basic wiring and programming methods (incidentally i know what needs to be done but not how to do it lol).  But while reading the 50 dollar robot i noticed that it does not give a tutorial on how to attach a remote control to work simultaneously, with the autonomous ( i think a switch on the controller would need to be programmed to switch between the two).  But how difficult would this be programming wise and adding it onto the board?

Offline dannytemmerman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 03:40:38 AM »
Hey all, i am new to this forum and just finished reading the robot for under 50 dollars.  while i don't have much expierience building robots as a hobbyist i do have expierance building robots with a team. My main expertise goes to mainly mechanics (including pneumatics, treads, design flaws, and other mechanics) and design, knowing only basic wiring and programming methods (incidentally i know what needs to be done but not how to do it lol).  But while reading the 50 dollar robot i noticed that it does not give a tutorial on how to attach a remote control to work simultaneously, with the autonomous ( i think a switch on the controller would need to be programmed to switch between the two).  But how difficult would this be programming wise and adding it onto the board?

You can salvage the remote circuit of a toy car and use two sensor ports on the ATmega8.
I had a toy car with 2 motor controllers for forward and back.
I used 4 relays, 4 diodes and various resistors.
So if you do forward on the controller the sensor value is differend than the value if you do forward.
You can program the programmer so if the value is for example 110 that your robot goes forward.
And you can also install some sensor this way, instead of those remote modules witch only control servos.


Danny

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
    • Exodus Rocketry
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 05:41:02 AM »
I'm no expert, but couldn't you just make it so it has this?
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline dannytemmerman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2009, 06:47:28 AM »
I'm no expert, but couldn't you just make it so it has this?

Yes, but with a toy car circuit its cheaper.

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
    • Exodus Rocketry
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2009, 07:21:01 AM »
oh I forgot that he was using a RC circuit and not a professional Rx / Tx Controller with servo outputs
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline xjtxdyexTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2009, 12:24:43 PM »
I'm no expert, but couldn't you just make it so it has this?


ya i was thinking of that but wouldn't i need to change the programming?   ...again am a little bit of a noob when  it comes to the programming

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2009, 12:45:56 PM »
I'm no expert, but couldn't you just make it so it has this?


ya i was thinking of that but wouldn't i need to change the programming?   ...again am a little bit of a noob when  it comes to the programming

Do not just splice them together like that. You will get a lot of signal interference on the signal line, and you may have conflicting power supplies on the 5v line.

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
    • Exodus Rocketry
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2009, 02:33:09 PM »
ya, I thought that might happen :P
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2009, 02:45:49 PM »
could you use a third channel hooked up to an input and when its high it somehow switches over to the rc control? like it turns on a nc relay?
Howdy

Offline dellagd

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • Helpful? 5
  • Come to the dark side... We have cookies!
    • Exodus Rocketry
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2009, 05:19:00 PM »
ya, couldn't you just have 1 GND and positive and then have a remote switch to switch back from autonomous control to R/C control and visa versa>
Innovation is a product of Failure, which leads to Success.

If I helped, +1 helpful pls

I Won!
3rd place! I'm taking $100

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 dollar robot Rc - autonomous question
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2009, 01:16:03 AM »
Quote
But while reading the 50 dollar robot i noticed that it does not give a tutorial on how to attach a remote control to work simultaneously, with the autonomous
Actually this is pretty easy. Pseudocode:

Code: [Select]
measure_signal();//depends on your remote, record remote signal

if (signal>0) //signal received
   do_what_remote_says();
else //remote control isn't used
   run_autonomous_mode();

If you use an RC remote, use this code to read the remote signal:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3099.0

 


Get Your Ad Here