go away spammer

Author Topic: Linear motor control  (Read 2433 times)

Offline zohonieTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Linear motor control
« on: January 20, 2011, 01:29:56 PM »
Hi,

I recently bought anUltraMotion linear actuator with a 24v dc servomotor:

http://www.ultramotion.com/products/bug.php
I would like to extend and retract the rod continuously for upto 24 hours. I would also like to control the frequency and distance of travel. The actuator comes with adjustable limit switches to control the travel distance. what I need help with though is figuring out how to control its speed and direction. It would be best if I can do this with analog circuit. Please be as specific as possible as I'm very new to think kind of work. Thank you very much.

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
Re: Linear motor control
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 02:26:44 PM »
Analog circuits are typically not recommended, since they can really badly waste energy.  If you're set on doing it with an analog circuit, though, you may need to be a bit more specific: do you want to be able to physically set the controls, and then turn it on, or will you be setting it up through a computer (which would require extra work and you should probably just do it digitally anyway :-P).

Does your motor come with the precision linear potentiometer?  That would make things a lot easier for you.  In fact, it looks like you bought the version with a servo attached...servos allow you to just specify their position and off they go, but you have to do it digitally.  Can you be more specific about all the options you have on your actuator?

If you didn't get the servo version (so you'll have to do the control yourself), my best advice would be to get a microcontroller with a Pulse-Width Modulation (PWM) output attached to a motor control board (many such boards and microcontrollers exist that are pre-built for you so you don't have to do much in the way of soldering.