go away spammer

Author Topic: Hello I need some help!  (Read 2099 times)

Offline angelscarTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hello I need some help!
« on: January 24, 2010, 03:11:21 AM »
Hello!
My name is Nicolas.
I am new at robots and I just wanted a little help and some suggestions about my first robot that I am planning to make!
I want to make a robot that uses energy to move from wind or sun. That energy is going to go into some rechargeable batteries
so the robot can move and make what I will program it to do. I just wanted you to give me some suggestions because I am about
to go at a contest! So please help!

Nicolas. 

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Hello I need some help!
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 04:39:51 AM »
Well..there are numerous options. you just have to look at the pros and cons

Solar is the most obvious. you can use as many or little solar cells you want to attaine the wanted voltage and currnet. you can have a sensor tilt them to maximze the sun it uses.

wind turbines can be big and intrusive and not as energy efficiant as solar. you can gear them but they still lose energy. and dont think a wind turbine is a large propeller looking thing. it can be anything that uses its fluid dinamics to collect wind and turn it into energy. but often it is intrusive and not practical for a robot.

but before you make a descision think about all the testing location(windy,sunny etc).size of the robot etc. and tell us as it will help us give you better advice.

Regards

Joker94

Offline angelscarTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2010, 04:47:46 AM »
Thanks for the answer! Remember it will be my first robot so I need to keep it simple.
Do you suggest just solar? Can I put a light resistor so the robot can follow places with more light
so it can move?

Thanks

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2010, 05:56:00 AM »
Yeah i think solar is the way to go