go away spammer

Author Topic: No experience, joined competition. Good idea?  (Read 2184 times)

Offline CaekfranTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
No experience, joined competition. Good idea?
« on: January 07, 2011, 01:59:27 AM »
So I am basically a complete beginner. I'm interested in robots, but have never built one. They just started offering Robotics at my school this year, but I couldn't take it. I decided to take AP Computer Science instead (and it is probably completely worthless when it comes to programming robots).

Anyways, a couple weeks ago my CompSci teacher announced that our school district would be competing in the FIRST Robotics Competition, and asked who wanted to join the team. I said yes, thinking it might be cool to try.

Well, that's starting to seem like a dumb decision. Just looking through the basic tutorial on this site, I realized I have a lot more to learn about robots than I thought, and I'm starting to reconsider being a part of the competition. Maybe it will be a chance to learn, or maybe I'll just be that dumb chick who had no idea what she was getting into and only gets in the way. :/

The kickoff is tomorrow, and I haven't been able to attend any meetings so far (meaning I also have no idea of the skill level of my teammates -- they might be just as clueless as I am. But I doubt it). Should I stay a part of the team and hope I learn something, or would it be best to just drop out and begin at the beginning, building my own simple robot?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2011, 02:01:37 AM by Caekfran »

Offline VegaObscura

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 6
Re: No experience, joined competition. Good idea?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 02:11:52 AM »