go away spammer

Author Topic: Purposed First Robot Plan  (Read 3072 times)

Offline noahcTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Purposed First Robot Plan
« on: June 13, 2009, 03:09:36 PM »
I've always looked at robots and wanted to build one.  When I look at them I've always viewed them as much about their technological side as their sociological side.  I want to build a robot that has a personality and can interact with people.  I work in IT and have programmed in a few different languages(python, java, c, VBA, and bash), so I'm comfortable with the programming side of it.  I also have done a fair bit of soldering, however, I'd say I'm pretty much a newbie to the robotics side.

Here is my project proposal, please let me what you think.  The first stage is basically to get the robot "going".

I want to use a SheevaPlug as the brains. I am considering using a NSLU2 as well, but I'm not sure yet.  I am sure it will be one of these two devices. I figured I'd then install debian on it.  The next step is to find a battery to use for these.  I am thinking I can use a powerwheels 6v battery.  Is this too heavy?

Next, I'd build the frame out of [urlhttp://www.budgetrobotics.com/shop/?cart=775829&cat=103&]PVC[/url] and plexiglass.  I want to people to be able to look inside and see how it works.  I want this to be a 4 wheeled device, but I'm not sure exactly to interface the servos.  Can I do this with USB?

I would then build two 128x64charcter LCD's into the device.   The LCD's would then be used for input (keyboard) and output (from device).  I would also control the device from the keyboard.  

I haven't done a ton of research on this project, and this hardware isn't set in stone.  There are a lot of neat things to do on the linux side of this such as run a webserver and interface that with the hardware.