go away spammer

Author Topic: N00b trying to build N.E.PT.R from Adventure Time  (Read 1861 times)

Offline xJeannaxTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
N00b trying to build N.E.PT.R from Adventure Time
« on: May 23, 2014, 11:00:31 AM »
Hello, I will give you a little background on why I want to do this project. My boyfriend and I are HUGE fans of Adventure Time and love N.E.P.T.R. My boyfriend is a computer science major and is an amazing programmer. He has made many programs and has been working on building robots with Arduino and Robot Platforms. His love for N.E.P.T.R and programming I was inspired to try and see if I could build him one for his birthday(which is several months away). With him being a programmer I should have access to any of his programs to program N.E.P.T.R Now for me, I know almost nothing about robotics and need your help in determining whether or not this project is feasible for me to do or should I just leave this project for him. If so, what materials do I need, and could someone help me with writing the code. Also, I am wanting to do this for a feasible price as well, as I am a college student working an almost minimum wage job. I do have the course of a few months to make this project which allows me to be able to spend good amount, but I don't want to have to spend a large sum.

My Plans For the Construction of N.E.P.T.R
1. For the base I was thinking about getting this platform.
 http://www.robotmesh.com/rover-5-tank-chassis-4-motors-with-4-encoders?gclid=CjkKEQjw4_ubBRCArMWr6avk_J8BEiQAIj43tZY2daQF1pcRTVFk41z3oGcRK0MZnUIZ7qP_osx86djw_wcB
If I get this platform should I get this one or the one with only 2 motors + 2 encoders?

2. I plan to hollow out a microwave to where it is just the casing of the microwave so it is lightweight and because I think the components of the microwave would be pointless for this project.