Author Topic: Topics for thesis  (Read 10095 times)

Offline kissandra79Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Topics for thesis
« on: July 20, 2011, 05:21:16 PM »
I am in my final semester of my masters program. As part of the course work, I should present an elaborate thesis at the end of this semester. My majors are robotics and software development. I already know that I want to do my thesis on a topic related to robotics. But I am so very utterly confused about what aspect of robotics i want to work on. I have spent the last few weeks trying to decide on a topic. I visit various websites looking for ideas....and I also browse various tech websites looking for some inspiration. I've been doing this for the past three weeks and have so far been unsuccessful in coming up with a decent thesis topic. Can someone please give me any ideas?. Or at least point me in the direction of some robotic inspiration? Not having a topic and not having spent the past three weeks usefully, I feel a little defeated and restless.. :(.

My skills are c,c++,python,Linux,embedded programming, mnicrocontrollers. I've dabbled with an arduino before and also have some experience with real time operating systems...

The truth is..even though I have a few ideas of my own; I want to do something that will look good oin my resume. Because after my masters, I want to work and I feel that I have a better chance of getting a job if my thesis was based on some real world consumer or industrial aspects of robotics...

Thanks. Any ideas...however wild and outlandish will be appreciated :).

Offline corrado33

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
Re: Topics for thesis
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 05:29:09 PM »
Shouldn't a thesis be an original project?

It doesn't have to work, as long as you tried something extraordinary.   :)

Or even perfected a non-original technique.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots