go away spammer

Author Topic: Problem with remote receiver battery drain...  (Read 6390 times)

Offline alphatunesTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Problem with remote receiver battery drain...
« on: April 12, 2011, 12:16:48 PM »
I have an off-the-shelf 12V remote and receiver combo.  Here's a vendor's pic and description -- not the exact model, but close enough:  http://www.dinodirect.com/315-433MHz-Wireless-Remote-Control-Switch-System-AK-RK02B-12-AK-SF02.html

I'm using the remote to open and close a Firgelli PQ12-S actuator.  Problem I have is that the receiver is always looking for the signal, and, therefore, always draining the battery.  I'm using the smallest 12V I can find (MN21/23), similar to what you use in a garage door opener.

How do I prevent the battery from being drained?  I'm new to this, so this is causing me problems.  I'm wondering, is there another type of remote I should be using? 

My goal is to be able to press a button on a remote and cause an actuator to open and close without running through a million batteries every five minutes.  Is this so much to ask?

Thanks in advance!   ???

Offline vinniewryan

• Helpful? 2
Re: Problem with remote receiver battery drain...
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 04:26:26 PM »
hmm, this could get slightly complicated for a beginner. You need to set up a circuit that controls the power to the rf device at timed intervals to only 'listen' for an incoming signal once every second/X, and to stay on when a signal is heard. This would be very easy with a PIC and some code. Otherwise you'll need an oscillator that charges and discharges a capacitor, and during each discharge will hold a transistors base to allow power to the RF circuit, then a seperate capacitor that is charged by the relay when a signal is received, that will hold the transistor on for as long as needed for the motor to do its job.

Does any of that make sense?

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99