go away spammer

Author Topic: Self Adjusting Rocket  (Read 3038 times)

Offline OstrianielTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Self Adjusting Rocket
« on: May 13, 2008, 11:42:17 PM »
Hello guys, I am completely new to much of this but a group of friends and I are working on a model rocket.

The idea is to have sensors to adjust the rockets trajectory, by moving its fins, in order to keep it going straight up. At first i thought wiimote but those things are huge and u pretty much need a computer to get its data, something that obviously cant be placed on a rocket's payload.

Doing some research i found that the wiimotes use accelerometers without any gyros.

Accelerometers used:
http://www.analog.com/en/prod/0%2C2877%2CADXL330%2C00.html

I know i may be able to use these but I'm not sure were to go from here. I know ill need a micro processor of some sort to do the calculations and control the small motors that will move the fins.

I don't know how to program the little processors or what language to use. (I know some VB.Net)

This is a bit of an ambitious project since I know little about the subject so ANY help or advice (even ideas) will be GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks!

-Ostrianiel

Offline AndrewM

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
    • I Am.  When?
Re: Self Adjusting Rocket
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 01:25:51 AM »
Accelerometers are prone to vibrations, which I would imaging a model rocket would be producing in abundance.  Gyros on the other hand are less prone to vibration but will rezero themselves (there is probably a technical term, but I don't know it), meaning that after a gyro is tilted at a certain angle for a period of time, that angle becomes the new level mark.  So you basically need both a two axis accelerometer and a two axis gyroscope, using both readings-the accelerometer to know where level really is and the gyro to know when the rocket has tilted.