Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: pomprocker on September 04, 2008, 11:45:04 AM

Title: ATmega168 flash size
Post by: pomprocker on September 04, 2008, 11:45:04 AM
So before I get in too deep, does anyone have any idea if the mega168 has enough room to hold code to control diff drive movement, pan and tilt servos, 2 small 3DOF arms, and a blackfin camera hooked up to its uart?

Is there a way to add external flash memory if not?

Would I need to increase the clock speed with an external crystal?
Title: Re: ATmega168 flash size
Post by: Penth on September 04, 2008, 12:36:45 PM
Have you considered upgrading the chip to something bigger? Maybe a atmega128 or atmega640 like Admin's axon uses?
Title: Re: ATmega168 flash size
Post by: pomprocker on September 04, 2008, 12:38:24 PM
Yeah I plan on getting the axon.

But for now I want to stretch the $50 robot to the limits!!

Not to put  a dent in Admin's sales, but I'd like to make more tutorials for the $50 robot upgrades.
Title: Re: ATmega168 flash size
Post by: Penth on September 04, 2008, 01:16:41 PM
Count up the possible number of io ports you would need and they may help answer if the 168 can handle it.
Title: Re: ATmega168 flash size
Post by: Admin on September 04, 2008, 07:44:28 PM
Quote
So before I get in too deep, does anyone have any idea if the mega168 has enough room to hold code to control diff drive movement, pan and tilt servos, 2 small 3DOF arms, and a blackfin camera hooked up to its uart?
Yeap, it has enough memory and then some. My ERP originally used the ATmega168 before I invented the Axon.

The ATmega168 has 16kb of flash.

My last version of Axon software, with *all* header files and features included, is 16kb (see image). The new beta software is closer to 20kb. But again, thats with *everything* included - most you can just comment out.

(http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/images/axon_compiled.png)