Author Topic: Powering Solenoids from Axon  (Read 2886 times)

Offline agorilleTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Powering Solenoids from Axon
« on: March 04, 2011, 01:45:08 PM »
Hi, I'm a total novice when it comes to electronics. I understand mechanics and programming, but otherwise I have no idea what I'm doing.

I'm working on a project which powers eight pull solenoids http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/SOL-58/24_VDC_PULL-TYPE_SOLENOID/-/1.html from the Axon micro controller. I don't know what type of voltage regulators, MOSFETs, or transistors to use and in what type of schematic.

I'm assuming I'll need two different types of batteries, one 12v to power the solenoids (they don't need to pull back very much), and one 6v (which I already have) for the Axon.

Can someone help me decide what else I need? Any help is much appreciated.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Powering Solenoids from Axon
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 03:55:24 PM »
Hi,

I'm assuming I'll need two different types of batteries, one 12v to power the solenoids (they don't need to pull back very much), and one 6v (which I already have) for the Axon.
If it's true that they can run acceptably at 12V (and that's a big if) and if they only need a short pull with some force (and then need less force to hold them), it can actually be run from 6V with a fairly simple circuit.

@24V they need around 120mA, so a transistor like the BC337 will do nicely (or a 2N2222 if that's easier to get a hold on). Further you need 2 or 3 resistors (depending on whether the solenoids can be powered while the controller is off?) and a diode to protect the transistor.

If you decide to go with a 12V battery, you can use a voltage regulator (preferably a switch mode regulator) to drive the controller.

I can draw you a schematic on the drivers if you can read it?

Why not go with weaker solenoids (and made for 12V) if that's what you need?
Regards,
Søren