go away spammer

Author Topic: gear measurement for servo motor  (Read 2449 times)

Offline pedenskiTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
gear measurement for servo motor
« on: July 14, 2013, 08:18:18 PM »
im quite new in the mechanical engineering and not familiar with gears and motors yet, few days ago, i bought a second-hand GWS servo motor for my project, and it didn't include gears.

can someone help me how to know the correct measurement of my motor so i could buy the correct gear that could fit on my servo motor. specifically, the measurement of the gear 'hole'

here is a pic http://i43.tinypic.com/2ekktw7.jpg

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: gear measurement for servo motor
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2013, 10:08:22 PM »
What you need is called a 'servo horn' to put on the servo's output shaft.
The gears are already inside the servo housing.

Google "GWS servo horns" and you'll find lots available from many sources.
You will also need a screw that goes into the end of the output shaft to hold the horn in place.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2013, 10:49:15 PM »
hi waltr,

im actually looking for a gear, instead of a horn. i need to directly attach a "gear" on the shaft.

upon searching for servo gears, there are various sizes of "middle holes" and i need the specific diameter of "middle hole" that could fit on my servo motor.

there were suppliers that provides plastic gears and rack, but they were too big for my servo.

is there a standard way on measuring the middle hole diameter so i could give the correct specs to the supplier?

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2013, 11:03:31 PM »
Yes; standards are typically in fractional inches, or in whole millimeters (e g, 1/4", or 3mm, or whatever.)
Get a good set of calipers, and measure your output shaft diameter. Note that 1/4" will be 6.35mm, whereas 6mm will be 6.35mm.