Author Topic: Soldering noob.  (Read 3632 times)

Offline wiley89Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Soldering noob.
« on: January 03, 2008, 09:09:32 PM »
Hi, I'm just getting into electronics as a hobby, and I find all of this extremely interesting. I purchased this LED flashing heart kit as a present for my girlfriend and am in the process of soldering everything. I think I may have run into a problem, however. While soldering on one of the transistors the solder from the transistor's pad streamed together with the solder from an adjacent pad. I know this can cause a short circuit, however the pads are so close together I think maybe the pads are meant to be soldered together to complete the circuit. I know next to nothing about PCB and was hoping maybe someone on this forum could shed some light on my predicament. This is more or less a novelty gift for my girl, so it's gotta be perfect  ;). I also consider it my warm up for the soldering I'll do when I get into robotics later on.

Finally, if the run together is a problem, what's the best solution? I have a basic desoldering pump, but I can't seem to get these pads to separate now.

Offline airman00

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
  • narobo.com
    • Narobo.com - Mechatronics and related
Re: Soldering noob.
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 09:42:19 PM »
I dont see what the big deal is to just suck up the solder while its being heated by the soldering iron.

Just suck up the solder and problem solved!

And PCBs are meant to have close together pads, thats the whole point of the PCB - to compress the circuit!
Check out the Roboduino, Arduino-compatible board!

Link: http://curiousinventor.com/kits/roboduino

www.Narobo.com

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2008, 09:46:26 PM »
these pads are separated by maybe a millimeter of silicon, its hardly visible.