Author Topic: Ohm's Law for Idiots  (Read 7112 times)

Offline _Moonbot_Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • It's...in...It's in...the box. IN THE BOX DOFUS!
Ohm's Law for Idiots
« on: February 16, 2011, 10:31:26 AM »
I'm new to robotics and was wondering if someone could explain Ohm's Law to me.   ???
The claw...

Offline blackbeard

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
Re: Ohm's Law for Idiots
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 10:53:14 AM »
ohms law basicly shows the relation between resistance, current and voltage. look at the wheel below

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

instead of E you can use V for voltage. by shifting arround a the ohms law calculation you can find current, voltage and resistance using any of the other 2 variables. If for instance you have a 1.5v battery with an unknown resistor.

you measure 0.00075 amps. with that info you could find out what the resistor is through the ohms law calculation R=E/I or R=1.5/0.00075. the answer is 2000 meaning you have a 2k resistor!
"sure, you can test your combat robot on kittens... But all your going to do is make kitten juice"

First step: Build androids with AI
Next step: Give them vaginas

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 11:09:35 AM »
Ok, I hope You know Google, try pressing the link  ;D

Once I've read a nice explanation of Current, Voltage and Resistance is. It goes something along these lines.

If You compare electricity to Your house water system:
Voltage is a Water Pipe
Current is a Water Flow
Resistance is a Valve(or a tap)

Now, You can imagine that the bigger the Water Pipe the bigger Water Flow is.
Same with electricity, the bigger the Voltage, the more Current You can get.

If You have a Valve(or a tap) You can reduce Water Flow with it because size of the Water Pipe is reduced at that spot (if You get what I mean), hence with Resistance (Resistor) you can reduce Current by creating a Voltage drop at a certain spot in a circuit.