Author Topic: How can I seal a small dc motor for water?  (Read 26945 times)

Offline GrunthanerTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
How can I seal a small dc motor for water?
« on: February 06, 2011, 09:24:41 PM »
Hi I am a technology teacher and having kids compete with small dc motors (not servo) to make small robots go under water in a small fish tank. I saw methods of sealing servo motors and putting them into small balloons to seal. Besides that are there other techniques? Can we just put the small motors in the water and use them for the small competition knowing they will fail over time if not sealed?

Offline AtomHex

• Helpful? 0
Re: How can I seal a small dc motor for water?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 10:55:09 AM »
 I built a small ROV for under water and used the canisters that film came in, the little plastic ones with snap on lids make a small hole in the lid for motor shaft and one in the other end for wires seal them with Vaseline. Open motors in the water are actually shorting out , IF they work there running at very very low efficiency.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2011, 02:05:42 PM »
Hi,

Open motors in the water are actually shorting out , IF they work there running at very very low efficiency.
No they're not!
Water has got a much higher resistance than the motor - some people break in their motors under water.
That said, it would shorten their life some of course.

Please don't present a (wrong) guess as if it was knowledge.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline dunk

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
    • dunk's robot
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2011, 02:20:10 PM »
so distilled water has no resistance so electronics can operate without fear of short circuit under distilled water.