go away spammer

Author Topic: Good robot idea but building from scratch  (Read 2442 times)

Offline sneaky_transistorTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Good robot idea but building from scratch
« on: October 31, 2013, 10:55:21 PM »
I'd like to build something like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tD3dsDzbeg

Is this built from scratch rather than using a kit?

Problem is, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to the mechanical engineering of things. I've been looking for resources to learn only to find none on how to actually put the pieces together and understand which aluminum bracket is used for what.

I just need a couple of answers.

First, does anyone have any good resources online or in reading on how to actually build robots with metal components and on selecting the right size chassis based on these components? I would really appreciate it.

Another question, how long do you think it will take someone not well-verse in mechanics, like me, to build something like this?

And lastly, would I be able to make a quadripod similar to this, but that uses Arduino and can climb on walls using suction cups?

If you can answer, thank you so much.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2013, 11:41:00 PM by sneaky_transistor »

Offline Jackson21

• Helpful? 0
Re: Good robot idea but building from scratch
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 03:03:41 AM »
Woah mate,