go away spammer

Author Topic: Rover suspension ideas needed  (Read 2781 times)

Offline jwatteTopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Rover suspension ideas needed
« on: December 02, 2012, 03:14:34 PM »
I'm building a rover for light outdoors navigation (Robomagellan.)

I'm an accomplished software engineer, I've had electronics as a hobby since I was 10, but I was a clueless newbie when it comes to mechanics. I've taken some classes in metalworking and CNC milling, and have paid my dues in broken bits to the point where I can mill parts out of stock pretty reasonably, using 3-axis machining. Centering, alignment, and workholding for 4-axis is so far a big mystery to me, but I'll probably take a class and start figuring it out at some point.

My ambitious goal is to place in top 3 at Robomagellan at Robogames in San Mateo 2013.

I started with an RC truck and got all the main concepts down. Microcontrollers -- easy. Software -- check. Sensors -- all integrated over I2C with little slave AVR chips driving them. Motor control -- I built my own from N-channel MOSFETs. It all worked pretty well, but the RC truck chassis (a 10 year old plastic toy from Nikko) started to turn to mush, even though I put a frame on top of it built of 3/4" L-angle aluminum. Also, I found that I really need encoders on the wheels to know how I'm going, and the RC truck just ain't gonna make that happen.

It's time to build a more suitable chassis.

The mechanical components I have, and likely won't change ('cause I'm all bought out at this time :-):
- Pololu 37D gear motors with encoders, 4 of them + 1 spare
- RC tires, 7" diameter, 14 mm hex, 4 of them
- Pololu 18V25A CS motor controllers, 2 of them (one for each side, or one front/one back) + 1 spare
- Strong hobby servos for steering (Solar D772,) 4 of them + 1 spare
- Assorted thrust, needle, and ball bearings
- Aluminum blanks, steel round bar blanks
- Assorted springs, nuts, washers, bolts, etc