go away spammer

Author Topic: (..another) Robotic Arm Project Question  (Read 2300 times)

Offline spyrosgTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
(..another) Robotic Arm Project Question
« on: October 09, 2009, 12:52:27 PM »
Hi, I've been thinking about 10 months now to start my first robotic project, a robotic arm. My idea is to create an arm with many DOFs (as many as possible to emulate the human arm+hand), that will be controlled remotely by a PC. I been wondering how to accomplish that and I decided to start from the arm emulation because I have some experience with graphic libraries.

So I'm thinking to start by sewing a glove (:)) with some linear analog displacement sensors in it in order to control a virtual 3D hand in my PC.
As far as I know, Cyber Gloves are really expensive.

So, the questions are:

1) Do you have in mind where can I buy these sensors and perhaps which type specifically?
2) Is there an easy and effective way the read these sensor values from a PC in real-time?

Thank you in advance.
Cheers.

Offline Neophite_404

• Helpful? 0
Re: (..another) Robotic Arm Project Question
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 05:26:08 PM »
An idea off of the top of my head might be to look at Bidirectional Flex Sensors. http://www.imagesco.com/articles/flex/sensor-pg1.html.

They are cheap and I would think an algo. to convert the change in resistance into maybe an angle measurement would be easy to come up with. (But it would take a lot of testing on your part).