go away spammer

Author Topic: INFRARED SENSORS!!  (Read 2275 times)

Offline patwariTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
INFRARED SENSORS!!
« on: June 24, 2008, 11:26:43 PM »
Hey,I am pretty new to electronics.
I plan to make a line follower with obstacle avoidance for which I would need an infrared emitter detector..
This is what I already know..The ir emits rays that strike an obsatcle and the reflected rays fall upon the detector which is a photodiode.considering the fact that a photodiode works on reverse bias where breakdown occurs and the reverse current is generated.(electric signal)
Now what I want to know is what  1> happens to this reflected ray..???  2>What does a photodiode do to it???
 3>How does an ADC interpret this  signal???
Does it have any specific voltage like (say 1.7volts or something)??
PLZ REPLY!!!

Offline BANE

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
Re: INFRARED SENSORS!!
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2008, 10:20:43 AM »

paulstreats

Re: INFRARED SENSORS!!
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2008, 05:25:34 PM »
1) The semiconductor material in the photodiode changes resistance depending on the amount of light falling on it. IR photodiodes have a gas filter that only allows infrared light to shine on the semiconductor material. So the more infrared light there is the less (or more depending on type of material) resistance is produced by the photodiode. (In your case imagine it as being a photoresistor or a light dependant resistor that reacts only to infrared light)

2)The photodiode doesnt do anything at all to the light rays, its the light rays that alter the photodiode (This is basically the same question as the one above)