go away spammer

Author Topic: Need help choosing a gripper  (Read 2369 times)

Offline lcabTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Need help choosing a gripper
« on: February 03, 2010, 10:59:15 PM »
 I am new at building robots and the first robot that I will help build will be for a student competition. I was wondering if anybody knows what would be a good griper to pick up rod that is 8 inches long and not quite sure of its actually weight but it probably weighs around a quarter of a pound. I have looked around at many grippers, but I have not found one that I could use. Thank you.

Offline little-c

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Need help choosing a gripper
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 02:27:57 AM »
is it magnetic? then you could cheat and use a electromagnet.

http://www.igg.org.uk/gansg/12-linind/foundry/scrapgrab1.jpg shows a gripper that might work. may need a bit of addaption, but should be fine.

Offline hopslink

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 14
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 08:40:19 AM »
See the gripper on Admin's ERP . That looks to be a good design for holding tube. If you have to pick up from the floor then you could modify the design towards two straight forklift style prongs on the base with opposing lock.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 08:34:19 PM »
thanks for everybody's help i appreciate it a lot , i think i will have to design it.I saw this one design on here where they put a servo on a straight piece of metal arm that came out a body, how would i approach this situation because i can't find that page where i saw it.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2010, 10:24:04 PM »