Author Topic: $50 robot - power problem  (Read 3645 times)

Offline simTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
$50 robot - power problem
« on: June 15, 2007, 06:28:34 PM »
Hi there. First of all, I'm a newbie - sorry if my question seems stupid or something... ;)

I've soldered together the PCB and programmed it with a short servo & LED test. The diode worked ok, but the servo wouldn't move. After figuring out it wasn't a software problem (2 hours of trying different pulse durations, damn... ;) ), I tried checking the voltage, and on the servo pins it was around 1,7 V... On the sensor pins it was ok, slightly above 6 V (I power the robot with 4 AA batteries). I decided to solve the problem the hard way and plugged another 4 AA pack into one of the remaining servo pin sets. It worked, but that's a solution I'd hardly call elegant...

So - any other suggestions how I could get the servo to move? Will replacing the original 4 AA pack with 6 AA work? What would happen if I altered the voltage regulator connection (the tutorial says that servos are powered by unregulated input, while regulated output goes to the microcontroller) - could I simply remove the connection between the regulator input and the servos, and power both the servos and the microcontroller from the regulator output?

Again, sorry if this seems dumb - I suppose I could find the answer myself if I remembered my physics lessons, but junior high was a long time ago... ;)

Offline ed1380

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot - power problem
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 06:21:53 AM »
and on the servo pins it was around 1,7 V
which pin? the signal one or the power.

servos will fry if you give them over 6 volts so no 6 AA batteries
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot - power problem