Author Topic: Temperature Alarm  (Read 3026 times)

Offline mdaislTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Temperature Alarm
« on: January 25, 2011, 11:36:00 AM »
I have never built anything electronic before, but after glancing at the tutorials, i would very much like to build a temperature alarm with an adjustable set point. If temp. drops below set point, an alarm goes off. If i can accomplish this, would like to take it one step further. If temp. drops below set point, an alarm goes off and makes a telephone call to pre determined number. Any help getting started would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 11:37:22 AM by mdaisl »

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Temperature Alarm
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 12:17:06 PM »
The first part is rather easy. A temperature sensor and a voltage comparator is all that is needed.

There are a number of different devices that can sense temperature. A Thermistor (temperature varying resistor) are cheap and easy to use. They don't have a linear response to temperature changes but that wouldn't be a problem.

The LM339 is a commonly available voltage comparator (there are others). One input is the reference voltage that is set from a pot (potentiometer) and the output go high or low depending on whither the input voltage is higher or lower than the reference voltage.

Search on the parts I mentioned for more info on how to use them. This is a good starting project.

The second part can be done but it isn't some thing I've done so other will need to help you.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 10:33:45 AM »
Hi,

I have never built anything electronic before, but after glancing at the tutorials, i would very much like to build a temperature alarm with an adjustable set point. If temp. drops below set point, an alarm goes off.
As waltr mentioned, this is quite easy.
What kind of alarm did you have in mind?