Author Topic: Brazing Questions  (Read 2624 times)

Offline macdad-Topic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 5
    • LoneWolf's Circuits
Brazing Questions
« on: May 16, 2010, 09:36:34 AM »
Hey everyone,

I'm still relatively new to robotics, and have already built several wooden bases for my first(Yet to be completed line-follower). But I have gotten into metal working and specifically Brazing. I've already gotten a propane torch and some bare metal(Zinc Plated Steel, and some Aluminum Sheeting) and about to actually get started on doing the basics. I have some Acid Core Solder, would that work for the filler metal or would I have to get some legit Brazing Wire?

Thanks

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Brazing Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 10:51:28 AM »
You can solder with a propane torch but to braze you will need a much hotter flame.

Do some googling on soldering and brazing for background info. They are a bit different as to the materials and temperatures used.

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 5
    • LoneWolf's Circuits
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2010, 01:19:12 PM »
Thanks for the notice, I checked around and fortunately my torch does achieve temps. for brazing. As for the filler metal, would Acid Core Solder work or do I have to get some brazing rods?

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2010, 04:00:45 PM »
Hi,

You don't say what kind of metal is outside the acid core and that would say a lot on how well it would hold up, as there are numerous types of solder material.
For aluminum, you'll need special solder (and flux) though.

I have done my fair share of brazing with a propane torch, with both silver and bronze material and you can't really compare it to solder, although, with the right solder and the right technique, you can make very solid work.