go away spammer

Author Topic: Python Robotics (PyRo)  (Read 9718 times)

Offline Half ShellTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Python Robotics (PyRo)
« on: November 07, 2008, 03:27:58 PM »
Hello all!

I have recently discovered PyRo, or Python Robotics (beware: Python Remote Objects also goes by Pyro). This software allows you to create a virtual world, a virtual robot (just the hardware), and then program code as if it was on that robot. Then you can simulate the results and test your program's behaviour!

http://pyrorobotics.org/?page=Pyro

Some cool videos of it working:
http://pyrorobotics.org/video/

The program seems amazing and I really want to work with it. The problem is, I can't get it installed properly! I'm no Linux newbie, but this is a pain. I was wondering if someone else interested in the program will work with me on trying to get it up and running.

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Python Robotics (PyRo)
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2008, 05:33:43 PM »
Well after two solid hours of attempting to install tons of dependencies - still no success! I am going to try their live boot CD next though, see how that works out...

Offline hgordon

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 7
    • Surveyor Robotics Journal
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2008, 06:25:49 PM »
I think the work on Pyro ended a year or so ago when IPRE was formed (Microsoft, Bryn Mawr, Georgia Tech), and they created a successor system is called Myro (also Python based).  They are building computer science classes around Myro, Parallax Scribbler, and Fluke Bluetooth controller. 
Surveyor Corporation
  www.surveyor.com

Offline SciTech02

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 3
  • Life's but a green duck with soy sauce. -MegaHAL
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2008, 07:31:46 PM »