Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: RITESH29 on March 18, 2012, 04:04:46 AM

Title: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: RITESH29 on March 18, 2012, 04:04:46 AM
Hello ,

I want to learn How to make robot controlled by MAT LAB.....
Please tell basic method to connect mat lab to robot simply moving ahead..!!


Thanks
Title: Re: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: mstacho on March 19, 2012, 07:25:00 AM
You need the right toolboxes, or you have to do HORRIBLE and unspeakable things with S-Functions.  I strongly suggest ignoring S-Functions like a plague of rats.

With the serial communications toolbox, though, everything is as simple as setting up the ports and making sure the robot knows how to read your stuff.  So once you get that, you can probably do it easy as pie.
Title: Re: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: RITESH29 on April 01, 2012, 08:28:49 AM
Quote
With the serial communications toolbox, though, everything is as simple as setting up the ports and making sure the robot knows how to read your stuff.  So once you get that, you can probably do it easy as pie.

HI,

How to use this serial communication in mat lab, please suggest me some basic working of it!
Title: Re: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: mstacho on April 01, 2012, 09:32:15 AM
You have to ask specific questions.  I'm not capable of writing a tutorial for that toolbox.  I suggest looking at the MATLAB documentation and making 100% sure you know what your project needs -- does it even NEED the serial communications toolbox?

We can probably help you with questions like "I tried function X but it says my inputs are of the wrong type.  The inputs I give it are Y.  What's wrong?"  We can't really help with "tell me how to use the entire toolbox" :-)

MIKE
Title: Re: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: RITESH29 on April 01, 2012, 10:47:51 AM
OK, Is there any Need of uc between Mat lab serial communication to control device, say H-BRIDGES??
Title: Re: how to make basic robot using matlab
Post by: mstacho on April 01, 2012, 11:02:06 AM
Yes, as far as I know.  The toolbox (now, evidently, called the "instrument control toolbox") only does RS232 (UART) and things like that.  So you have to send the command from MATLAB to the uC, then the uC deals with the lower level stuff.  I'm not too sure if MATLAB has a toolbox that can directly interface with PWM, but I doubt that it does.

MIKE