go away spammer

Author Topic: Help for a fresh programmer!  (Read 2145 times)

Offline David W SHCSTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Help for a fresh programmer!
« on: July 01, 2013, 02:11:44 AM »
hello robot enthusiasts, I am a beginner robotics programmer and would appreciate any answers provided. I have acquired the Atmega8 Micro controller and decided to make a simple object "avoiding" robot that actually bumps into objects and then drives off accordingly, using Lego motors and touch sensors from the lego mindstorms kit.

I was wondering what kinds of programming software I could use for my micro controller and how I can transfer a program from the program software to the micro controller? Also any programming tutorials that are good to read would be very helpful.

Thank you in advance, hopefully you may answer a few of my questions and that I have posted in the right section  :).

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Help for a fresh programmer!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 02:44:05 AM »
hello robot enthusiasts, I am a beginner robotics programmer and would appreciate any answers provided.
Hi and welcome  :)

I was wondering what kinds of programming software I could use for my micro controller [...]
For Atmel microcontrollers You probably want to use Atmel Studio 6 (currently latest release) as it is official IDE (Integrated Development Environment) created by developers of Your microcontroller, it's feature rich, well supported, and it's free to use.

[...] and how I can transfer a program from the program software to the micro controller?