Author Topic: Cheaper 50$ robot?  (Read 6752 times)

Offline CaduscusTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • PWN3D!!!
Cheaper 50$ robot?
« on: December 20, 2007, 12:18:10 PM »
Now i'm no expert, but i've read alot about electronics and mabye instead of a 70 $ Microcontroller, couldn't you just use a voltage comparator? I found on e at radioshack for like 2 $s this doesn't requuire programming, and it's way cheaper..but would it work? ???

paulstreats

Re: Cheaper 50$ robot?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2007, 12:27:23 PM »
the mcu in the $50 robot doesnt cost $70 - its much ,much cheaper

You could use a voltage comparator to provide difference in voltage levels, you would need at least 2 do do what the microcontroller does.

A voltage comparator wont drive the servo's, You may be able to do it with some 555's connected to the voltage comparators (its even possible without the comparators)and a few extra resistors and caps, and trimpots for tuning but it would eventually be cheaper and simpler to go with the microcontroller

Also if you built the $50 robot with just hardware and no microcontroller, all it would ever be is a photovore - The microcontroller gives you the ability to upgrade and expand your robot as your knowledge grows
« Last Edit: December 20, 2007, 12:29:03 PM by paulstreats »

Offline ed1380

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 11:31:37 AM »
what he said. the mcu costs under $5. depends where you buy it from.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Rebelgium

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
  • It's called the future ... We like it here
    • orgcrime.net
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 06:44:24 PM »
what he said.  ;)
Sure you can build a robot with a comparator and some 555 timers... but then you can never change what it does (photovore).
With that cheap MCU you can make it do endless different tasks.