Author Topic: Beginning Robot  (Read 1849 times)

Offline KlaytonTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Beginning Robot
« on: October 07, 2011, 07:18:31 PM »
First things first. I've never built a robot before and doing a google search yielded this forum. I have a B.S. in Physics but that doesn't necessarily translate to being helpful with robotics, except for being able to think outside the box and do math. As the title says I want to build a beginning robot. I want to make a 6 wheeled robot because it will be the trial for a larger robot I want to build. This one doesn't need to be as large or as powerful as the end robot but I want it to be a debugging model that I can build on with sensors and such. I'm looking at making a 6x12" robot so it has room to expand with sensors and such as I get more familiar with robotics. A few things I'm Looking for in my beginning robot:

6 Wheels
Differential Drive
Rc Controlled
6" diameter wheels
Fast Acceleration
Cruising speed of ≈10 mph
NiMH Battery
Brushless motors (unless recommended otherwise)
12V but I'd like 24-36V

Questions I have. I realize with bigger tires you can't carry as big a load which is fine this is going to be a driving robot to begin with

1. Where do I start to estimate: Weight, Voltage, Torque, Acceleration, Gear Ratios, etc etc? Most say to guess but this isn't good enough for me. I need formulas or some way of estimating. I want to avoid over weighting the first robot so cruising velocity can be drastically reduced, since this will mainly be tied to dc motor weight x6, for fundamentals and functionality.

2. What is the recommended dc motor for robots? I'm thinking brushless design, as stated above, but in reading up on them they need a special controller. I'm thinking High torque as I want the robot to be fast.