go away spammer

Author Topic: recursive functions on a mcu - is this bad?  (Read 4168 times)

Offline AdminTopic starter

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
recursive functions on a mcu - is this bad?
« on: August 28, 2010, 09:41:06 AM »
I remember back in the day that recursive functions are an extremely bad thing (and sometimes impossible thing) to do on a microcontroller.

That said, I've been doing it recently for a GUI system without problems . . . but I'm worried about longterm software crashing from memory leaks and stack overflows . . . I'm using my Axon II for this and not sure just how gcc treats recursive functions.

Is this bad?
Code: [Select]
void main(void)
     {
     run_GUI();
     }
void run_GUI(void)
     {
     do_something();//just rewrites a variable
     run_GUI();
     }

(I'm a weak programmer, I know :P)

Offline KurtEck

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 12
Re: recursive functions on a mcu - is this bad?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 10:51:34 AM »
The simple answer is it depends...

That is each call will eat so many bytes of stack space, including: return address, saved registers and assuming you have any local variables a stack frame that is large enough to hold all of your locals...  So if you recurse very many times it can eat up your stack space pretty quickly.

Likewise if it is something like your mainline that never returns, you will have all of the original stack frame associated with the first call that will never get reclaimed.

Do I use recursion?  Sometimes but only for specific type things.
Kurt

Offline Webbot

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 07:07:10 PM »
Its not a GCC problem - the compiler will do what you ask.

But as KurtEck says the restriction is that everytime you call ANY other function then space is required on the stack (to remember where to return to as well as for any local variables).