Author Topic: 1 microcontroller per leg?  (Read 1771 times)

Offline CPL. DotsonTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
1 microcontroller per leg?
« on: August 07, 2012, 04:00:59 PM »
Hello, I am fairly new at robotics. I have built small/simple robots with leaf switches to just rove, but am looking for something a bit more challenging. So, for my next project I am building a Hexapod that will have more than the normal two piece leg construction. In order to keep the micro-controller from bogging down, I was thinking I could run each leg off its own controller, and link them all to a mother board to facilitate faster movement. My reasoning behind this is that if I have 4-5 servo's per leg (3-4 piece legs) I could use something like an Arduino UNO per leg and link them via USB to a main/motherboard for instruction. I could program each UNO with its own set of commands for standard movements, and program the main board to synchronize the movements of all six legs. I was also thinking I could run a separate UNO for the sensors that would be used for automation.

Any idea if my theory will work? Thanks in advance.

CPL. Dotson

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
Re: 1 microcontroller per leg?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2012, 04:35:36 PM »
There's no reason it wouldn't work.  Edit: one thing that would be tricky is interfacing with 6 boards at once. I'm sure there are boards with 6 hardware UARTs, but I'm not aware of them. Software UARTs are an option, but they're less reliable; albeit, I have no experience using them.

I reckon you could do it fine with one 16MHz atmega chip for the whole thing.  Even if you're planning on doing autonomous with sensors, it's probably fine (unless you aim for really high speed stuff, I suspect).

My point of reference however, is others' hexapods with 3 servos per leg.  This one moves smooth, fast, 18 servos and an Atmega 644p or something (Arbotix board).