go away spammer

Author Topic: PICkit™ 2 Starter Kit  (Read 2921 times)

Offline DjarnTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
PICkit™ 2 Starter Kit
« on: July 11, 2011, 03:26:20 PM »
I've been given this starter kit, does anyone know it and what can I do with it?

I am new to robotics, and programming microchips, so please excuse my question if it seems silly, however I'm trying t oget my head around different programmers and chips.

I've got a demo version of PICBasic Pro Compiler, can I use a different compiler?

Offline corrado33

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 11
Re: PICkit™ 2 Starter Kit
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 06:39:46 PM »
Hmmm

For those who don't feel like googling, it comes with this board

And a programmer.

It seems really cool, except you pretty much ruin the board every time you want to try something.  It looks like you have to solder to it so every time you make a circuit you can't really... undo it.  You probably have to buy a new board every time you want to start a new project.

It's cool that the board has a switch and a pot and a couple leds on it already. 

Offline Joker94

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 26
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 07:08:10 PM »
Well, the programmer in the PIC kit is the far more expensive part and the reason they have the PIC kit, it doesnt take much to make up your own boards and prototyping bread boards with different chips for your projects.

Now that you have the programmer you have the most important part of the setup.

As for the compiler there are many different ones out there and many of them are free ware, I am not much of a PIC user so cant give you sound advice on that from.

Cheers

Joker94

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2011, 07:53:57 PM »